Du au

Shedule -

2025-T1 Representation Theory and Noncommutative Geometry

Representation Theory and Noncommutative Geometry, Paris

Amphitheater Darboux
11, Rue Pierre et Marie Curie
75005 Paris

Thematic trimester programme with short courses, seminars and workshops

January 6 to April 4, 2025 at the Institut Henri Poincaré, Paris


Important: the deadline for financial support request is June 15, 2024 

The trimester is part of an ongoing effort to bridge two fields of Mathematics : the representation theory of locally compact groups and the theory of operator algebras. These research domains share origins in harmonic analysis, spectral theory and quantum mechanics but grew in separate directions. Recent progress in representation theory, involving especially non-Riemannian symmetric spaces and spherical varieties, and new tools developed in operator algebras, especially those involving K-theory and the other methods of non-commutative geometry, offer exciting prospects for new work at the interface between the two fields. 

Research workshops  and mini-courses will be the occasion for researchers at every career stage to get acquainted with recent developments in these areas, exchange ideas and explore new research directions. 

Graduate students and post-doctoral researchers whose work connects to one or more of the topics of the trimester are particularly encouraged to participate.

Introductory School at CIRM Marseille:

January 6 to 10, 2025: Methods in representation theory and operator algebras


January 20 to 24, 2025: Intertwining operators and geometry (IHP, Paris)

February 24 to 28, 2025: Tempered representations and K-theory (IHP, Paris)

March 24 to 28, 2025: Analysis on homogeneous spaces and operator algebras (IHP, Paris)



March 24 to 28, 2025: TBA (IHP, Paris)


Preliminary list of participants (present during various periods of time):

Alexandre Afgoustidis, Anne-Marie Aubert, Erik van den Ban, Raphaël Beuzart-Plessis, Corina Ciubotaru, Pierre Clare, Tyrone Crisp, Claire Debord, Jan Frahm, Wee Teck Gan, Maria Paula Gomez-Aparicio, Nadya Gurevich, Nigel Higson, Peter Hochs, Pierre Julg, Toshiyuki Kobayashi, Job Kuit, Hung Yean Loke, Bram Mesland, Omar Mohsen, Karl-Hermann Neeb, Monica Nevins, Shintaro Nishikawa, Gestur Olafsson, Bent Ørsted, Angela Pasquale, Michaël Pevzner, Roger Plymen, Tomasz Przebinda, Yiannis Sakellaridis, Haluk Sengün, Georges Skandalis, Maarten Solleveld, Yanli Song, Birgit Speh, Alain Valettte, Hang Wang, Robert Yuncken.

Organising committee:

  • Alexandre Afgoustidis (CNRS)
  • Anne-Marie Aubert (CNRS)
  • Pierre Clare (College of William & Mary)
  • Jan Frahm (Aarhus University)
  • Angela Pasquale (Université de Lorraine) 
  • Haluk Şengün (University of Sheffield) 

Scientific committee:

  • Nigel Higson (Penn State University)
  • Roger Howe (Texas A&M University)
  • Toshiyuki Kobayashi (University of Tokyo) 
  • Georges Skandalis (IMJ PRG)
  • Birgit Speh (Cornell University)


Back to the thematic trimester main page 


Programme coordinated by the Centre Emile Borel at IHP


Sorbonne Université, CNRS