Here you will find information regarding the governance of IHP and its organization together with a contact list.


The Institut Henri Poincaré has two sorts of legal status and two supervisory institutions, namely the CNRS and Sorbonne Université. Its director, a mathematician, was appointed by the Minister of Higher Education, Research and Innovation, and by the CEO of the CNRS on the recommendation of the Board of directors. Its deputy director, a physicist, was appointed by the director after advice from the Board.

The management team is composed of a director, a deputy director and a secretary general, assisted by an executive assistant.

Prof.  Sylvie Benzoni, director of the Institut Henri Poincaré

Sylvie Benzoni is a former student of the École normale supérieure of Saint-Cloud who earned a phD in mathematics in 1991. She then became a CNRS full-time researcher in 1992. She has held a professor position at Université Claude Bernard Lyon 1 since 2003. She was director of Institut Camille Jordan for two years in 2016 and 2017, after having served as deputy director for five years. She has been director of the Institut Henri Poincaré since January 1st, 2018.
Sylvie Benzoni's research themes concern systems of partial differential equations for wave propagation and the modelling of complex fluids, such as those involving phase transitions. Her work focuses in particular on the stability of certain nonlinear waves.
She is committed to the transmission of mathematics through teaching and outreach.
Finally, she is engaged in "(truly) open access" scientific publishing.

Prof. Dominique Mouhanna, deputy director of the Institut Henri Poincaré.

Dominique Mouhanna was appointed deputy director of the Institut Henri Poincaré as of May 1, 2021 until the end of Sylvie Benzoni's term. He took over from Rémi Monasson who was deputy director for three years.
Dominique Mouhanna holds a professor position at Sorbonne Université where he works in the Laboratory of Theoretical Physics of Condensed Matter. He is the head for Sorbonne Université of the international master  “Physics of Complex Systems”. His research activity and his teaching mainly relate to Theoretical Physics and Mathematics. More specifically, Dominique Mouhanna works on frustrated magnetic systems, disordered magnetic systems as well as on fluid and polymerized membranes, using perturbative and non-perturbative renormalization techniques.

Dr Aurore Marcos, secretary general of the Institut Henri Poincaré

Aurore Marcos earned a phD in law. She is a research engineer at Sorbonne Université, and was appointed secretary general of the Institut Henri Poincaré on January 1st, 2020.


The IHP Board of Directors has 15 elected members (renewed in 2019) and around twenty appointed or permanent guest members representing the supervisory authorities, the ministry of higher education, research and innovation, local authorities and the scientific community. Its role is to ensure that the specific vocation of IHP is respected and to establish the operating and development policy of IHP.


Andler Martin U. Versailles Saint-Quentin
Benichou Alain IBM
Benzoni Sylvie IHP
Besse Christophe CNRS INSMI
Bierme Hermine Université de Tours
Bouchet Freddy ENS Lyon
Bouin Émeric Université Paris Dauphine
Chalendar Isabelle Université Gustave Eiffel
Dauxois Thierry CNRS INP
David François SFP
Drach-Temam Nathalie Sorbonne Université
Durand Fabien SMF
Duvillard Henri IHP
Fanelli Francesco U. Claude Bernard Lyon 1
Gisclon Marguerite Université de Savoie
Goubet Olivier SMAI
Goudon Thierry Ministère ESRI
Guillopé Colette Université Paris-Est Créteil
Hidri Faten Région Île-de-France
Hoarau Jean-Gilles Sorbonne Université
Kaber Sidi-Mahmoud Sorbonne Université
Kandel Laurent Mairie de Paris
Lafrance Houria Enseignante - Artiste
Lajoinie Florence IHP
Lecheminant Philippe CNRS INP
Marcos Aurore IHP
Maume-Deschamps Véronique U. Claude Bernard Lyon 1
Mézard Ariane Sorbonne Université
Miranda Eva Université de Barcelone
Mouhanna Dominique IHP
Philippe Anne Université de Nantes
Pisier Gilles Académie des sciences
Rodrigues José-Francisco Université de Lisbonne
Rossille Adrien IHP
Royer Emmanuel CNRS INSMI
Servoin Alexis Sociologue
Vernizzi Filippo CEA IPHT
Faure Emilie Secretary (IHP)


The Scientific Advisory Board was enlarged in 2019 to bring together sixteen members, eight mathematicians, six physicists and two computer scientists, chosen for their scientific expertise. The CPS advises IHP on scientific orientations and the selection of candidates for the various programmes.

BERTIN Eric Université de Grenoble
BIERMANN Silke École Polytechnique
BROWNING Tim Université d’Oxford
CHAINAIS Claire Université Lille
COLIN DE VERDIERE Eric Université Gustave Eiffel
DESOLNEUX Agnès ENS - Paris Saclay
GRANGIER Philippe Institut d’optique
LANGLOIS David Université de Paris
LECLERCQ Adeline Université de Grenoble
MAIDA Mylène Université de Lille
PAUN Mihai Université de Bayreuth



BENZONI Sylvie IHP - Directrice
MOUHANNA Dominique IHP - Directeur-Adjoint
MARCOS Aurore IHP - Secrétaire générale
LHERMITTE Sylvie IHP - Responsable du Centre Emile Borel
DA SILVA Florence IHP - Centre Emile Borel

The Outreach Advisory Board brings together 20 members involved in the dissemination of mathematics and their interactions with other disciplines, in order to advise IHP on its activities towards students, their teachers, the general public and actors of the socio-economic world.

Barbaresco Frédéric Thalès Groupe
Benzoni Sylvie IHP
Berglund Nils Université d’Orléans
Bocquet Lydéric CNRS
Cornu Laure Palais de la découverte
Couvreur Alain École polytechnique
Druet Olivier CNRS
Duluc Philippe ATOS
Durand Fabien SMF
Fermanian Clotilde Université Paris-Est Créteil
Goubet Olivier SMAI
Herblot Mathilde Université de Paris
Loc Isabelle BNP Paribas
Mouhanna Dominique IHP
Paturel Éric Université de Nantes
Philippe Anne SFdS
Ralaivola Liva Criteo
Richard Thomas Université Paris-Est Créteil
Szpirglas Aviva MATh.en.JEANS
Apéry François UHA
Brechenmacher Frédéric École polytechnique
Chambert-Loir Antoine Univ Paris Diderot
Clément Annick Sorbonne université
Duvillard Henri IHP
Faure Émilie Secrétaire (IHP)
Gaudel François Science ouverte
Gil Condé Nayara IHP
Lhermitte Sylvie IHP
Marcos Aurore IHP
Pérez Jérôme ENSTA
Perucca Brigitte CNRS
Rossille Adrien IHP
Uzbelger Georges IBM
Zana Brigitte FDD de l'IHP
Zanottti Cécile IHP


Organization and contact list