From to

Shedule -

2024-T2 Group Actions and Rigidity: Around the Zimmer Program

Group actions and rigidity: around the Zimmer program, Paris

Institut Henri Poincaré
11, Rue Pierre et Marie Curie
75005 Paris

Group actions and rigidity: around the Zimmer program, Paris

April 15th to July 5th, 2024

Thematic program with short courses, seminars and workshops

Registration is free but mandatory

The deadline for financial support requests is: October 15th, 2023

Presentation of the programme:

This term focuses on rigidity of group actions with some focus on issues that arise out of Zimmer's groundbreaking work in the 1980's. Areas of interest range from local and global rigidity of group actions to special rigidity phenomena in small dimensions to symmetry groups of geometric structures to measure rigidity results for quite general group actions with hyperbolicity.

This broad area has seen a very large number of dramatic breakthroughs in recent years. The goal of the term is to bring together experts and people in adjacent areas to share ideas and techniques and to foster additional breakthroughs. There will also be a significant component of the term dedicated to introducing younger participants to the broad area.

Introductory school:

April 15 to 19, 2024: Rigidity, Dynamics and Geometric Structures, held at CIRM, Marseille


April 29 to May 4, 2024: Low Dimensional Actions (IHP, Paris)

May 27 to 31, 2024: Group Actions with Hyperbolicity and Measure Rigidity (IHP, Paris)

June 10 to 14, 2024: Actions of Large Groups, Geometric Structures, and the Zimmer Program (IHP, Paris)

Preliminary list of participants:
  • Yves Benoist (Université Paris-Saclay & CNRS) 
  • Aaron Brown (Northwestern University)
  • Serge Cantat (Université de Rennes I & CNRS)
  • Sylvain Crovisier (Université Paris-Saclay & CNRS)
  • Danijela Damjanovic (KTH Royal Institute of Technology)
  • * Mikael de la Salle (Université Lyon I & CNRS) 
  • Bertrand Deroin (Université de Cergy & CNRS)
  • Romain Dujardin (Sorbonne Université)
  • Simion Filip (University of Chicago)
  • David Fisher (Rice University)
  • * Alex Furman (University of Illinois at Chicago)
  • * Étienne Ghys (ENS Lyon & CNRS & Académie des Sciences)
  • Cyril Houdayer (Université Paris-Saclay)
  • Homin Lee (Northwestern University)
  • Sebastian Hurtado (Yale University)
  • Kathryn Mann (Cornell University)
  • Karin Melnick (University of Maryland)
  • Dave Morris (University of Lethbridge)
  • * Amos Nevo (Technion - Israel Institute of Technology)
  • Thang Nguyen (Florida State University)
  • Vincent Pecastaing (Université Côte d'Azur)
  • Beatrice Pozzetti (Heidelberg University)
  • * Jean-François Quint (Université Bordeaux I & CNRS)
  • Federico Rodriguez-Hertz (Penn State University)
  • Ralf Spatzier (University of Michigan)
  • Michele Triestino (Université de Bourgogne)
  • Kurt Vinhage (University of Utah)
  • Zhenqi Wang (Michigan State University)
  • Zhiren Wang (Penn State University)
  • * Amie Wilkinson (University of Chicago)
  • Disheng Xu (Great Bay University)
  • Abdelghani Zeghib (ENS Lyon & CNRS)
  • Zhiyuan Zhang (Université Sorbonne Paris-Nord & CNRS)

* = awaiting confirmation.


Organising committee:
  • Aaron Brown (Northwestern University)
  • David Fisher (Rice University)
  • Kathryn Mann (Cornell University)
  • Vincent Pecastaing (Université Côte d’Azur)
  • Ralf Spatzier (University of Michigan)
Scientific committee:
  • Serge Cantat (Université de Rennes I)
  • Alex Eskin (University of Chicago)
  • Étienne Ghys (ENS Lyon)
  • Federico Rodriguez Hertz (Pennsylvania State University)
  • Amie Wilkinson (University of Chicago)